Back to reality – What I Ate Wednesday

Hey, how are you today? Yesterday was my first day back to work since before Christmas and wowza, it was busy.  Towards the end of the day, my little guy also started feeling crummy.  It seems to be cold, so fingers crossed he is feeling better soon. Talk about getting back to reality.

On New Year’s Day, I did a ton of meal prep, so was pretty aware of my eats all day and remembered to take pictures of my food, so I thought a what I ate Wednesday was in order.

So this is what I ate on Monday, the very first day of 2018.

I started my day with a cup of coffee with collagen, ashwagandha and a splash of eggnog.

A short while later I had a bowl of black-eyed peas prepared with ham, onions and green peppers. Not the most traditional breakfast, but the hubs has gotten into the habit of making black-eyed peas for New Years Day. Eating them first thing is supposed to bring luck and prosperity in the new year, which I am all for! Also, they are delicious.

After a morning yoga class, and some park time with the family, it was time for lunch.  I had a black bean and cheese burrito with a little sour cream and a fair amount of hot sauce, leftover roasted broccoli and a side of pub mix.  I actually had to make a second burrito because I got about two bites into the one in the picture before the little miss claimed it as her own.  Apparently, she is a fan of hot sauce.

I needed a little break from cleaning and chores in the afternoon, so I made myself a quick smoothie with coffee, almond milk, half a banana, and chocolate protein powder.

While making dinner I snacked on some leftover rustic sourdough baguette from one of my favorite local places, Beyond Bread.

Dinner was a Cuban chicken bowl, which is one of the hubs favorite meals, and such super easy meal prep.  It includes jerk seasoned chicken, plantains, black beans, brown rice and mango salsa.  

I did not think to snap a picture, but I ended the day with a lovely cup of tea and some reading before bed.

Had any good eats recently?  Are you “back to reality” after the holidays yet?  It is always a kind of bumpy transition.  I am hoping today will be calmer and my little guy will be back to his usual, feeling good self soon.

Have a great day!

29 thoughts on “Back to reality – What I Ate Wednesday

    1. That pub mix is really good! I have to portion out a serving or I will just keep grabbing handfuls of it. I usually thinly slice them, and then cook them in a pan with a little olive oil, and season with salt and pepper (or whatever other seasoning sounds good). They just cook for a minute or two on each side, until golden brown.

      Liked by 1 person

  1. We cook with a ton of different beans and black eye peas are a favorite. Make wonderful soup or just to eat them as a side dish.

    Like

  2. We always had black eyed peas on New Years Day growing up! It feels good to start the new year and to get back to eating healthy food!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. That dinner looks amazing! I definitely need to find some recipes and try something like that out. I am slowly getting back on track with my diet, but I’m still seriously craving cookies all the time.

    Like

  4. Thanks for sharing. I’m always curious what others eat so I loved seeing this! The Cuban bowl looks amazing. I really need to pick up some plantains too. Yum!

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Oh it’s going to be a shock on Sunday when I’m back to reality and even worse Monday to be back to work! I’m trying my best not to think about it!!!!

    Like

Leave a comment